2010 Pension Reforms for State Employees: SB 846, SBX6 22, AB 1592, AB 1625
2011 Pension Reforms for State Employees: SB 151

In 2010, most of the state’s 21 bargaining units agreed to pension reforms that rolled back benefits to

the levels in place in the mid 1970’s. In addition, employee contributions—for current and new

employees—to the state pension system (CalPERS) were increased to levels higher than any in history,

making California’s state employees among the highest pension contributors in the nation. In 2011,

Governor Brown concluded bargaining with the remaining 6 bargaining units, achieving contracts with

similar provisions to those completed in the previous year. Estimated long terms savings on pension

obligations will reach over 513 billion by the year 2040.

These bills adopt pension benefit levels that existed before SB 400 (Ortiz), Chapter 555, Statutes of
1999. The chart below details how the benefit levels have changed for state employees, employees in

the legislative and judicial branches, and employees of the California State University (CSU).

CalPERS Retirement
Classification

Benefits Pre SB 400
(1999, Ortiz)

Benefit Levels Beginning
1/1/2000 (after passage of
SB 400)

2010& 2011 Reforms

State Miscellaneous and
Industrial Members: State,
Legislative, Judicial, and CSU
Employees

Retirement Formulas (new hires)

2% at age 60

2% at age 55

2% at age 60

State Miscellaneous and
Industrial Members: State
Employees

Contributions to PERS (current
and new employees covered by
current MOUS)

5% of pay after first
$513

5% of pay after first $513

6% of pay after first $513
(State BU 2 only)

8%-10% of pay after
first $513

State Miscellaneous and
Industrial Members: State
Employees

Final Compensation Calculation
(new hires)

Average of 1 Highest
Year

Average of 1 Highest Year

Average of 3 Highest
Years since 2006

State Miscellaneous Members:
Legislative, Judicial, and CSU
Employee Final Compensation
Calculation (new hires)

Average of 1 Highest
Year

Average of 1 Highest Year

Average of 3 Highest
Years




State Safety Members

Retirement Formula (new hires) | 2% at age 55 2.5% at age 55 2% at age 55
Member Contribution to PERS 6 % of pay after first 6% of pay after first $513 9%-11% of pay after
(current and new employees $513 first $513

covered by current MOUSs)

Final Compensation Calculation
(new hires)

Average of 1 Highest
Year

Average of 1 Highest Year

Average of 3 Highest
Years since 2006

State Firefighters

Retirement Formulas (new hires)

2.5% at age 55

3% at age 50'

3% at age 55

Member Contributions to PERS
(current and new employees)

8% of pay after first
$238

8% of pay after first $238

10% of pay after first
$238

Final Compensation Calculation
(new hires)

Average of 1 Highest
Year

Average of 1 Highest Year

Average of 3 Highest
Years

State Patrol Officers

Retirement Formula (new hires) | 2.7% at age 55 3% at age 50 3% at age 55
Member Contribution to PERS 8% of pay after first 10% of pay after first
(current and new employees) $863 8% of pay after first $863 $863

Final Compensation Calculation
(new hires)

Average of 1 Highest
Year

Average of 1 Highest Year

Average of 3 Highest
Years

Peace Officers: State,
Legislative, Judicial, and CSU

Retirement Formula (new hires)

2.5% at age 55

3% at age 50 (State, CSU)"

3% at age 55 (Legislative)

2.5% at age 55

Member Contribution to PERS
(current and new employees)

8% of pay after first
$238 or $863 (varies
by group and
employer)

8% of pay after first $238 or
$863 (varies by group and
employer)

10%-11% of pay after
first $513 (State BU 7
and related excluded)

11% of pay after first
$863 (State BU 6 and
related excluded)

Final Compensation Calculation
(new hires)

Average of 1 Highest
Year

Average of 1 Highest Year

Average of 3 Highest
Years




Bills referenced in this chart:

SB 846, Chapter 162, Statutes of 2010 (Correa): State Employees: Memoranda of Understanding

SB X6 22, Chapter 3, Budget Act of 2010 (Hollingsworth): State Employees: Pension Reform

AB 1592, Chapter 163, Statutes of 2010 (Buchanan): State Employees: Memoranda of Understanding
AB 1625, Chapter 1625, Statutes of 2010 (Perez): State Employees: Memorandum of Understanding
SB 151, Chapter 25, Statutes of 2011 (Correa): State Employees: Memorandum of Understanding

'SB 400 granted state Firefighters the 3% at age 55 formula; however, subsequent collective bargaining
agreements and statutory changes increased the formula to 3% at 50.

"SB 400 granted state and CSU Peace Officers the 3% at age 55 formula; however, subsequent collective
bargaining agreements and statutory changes increased the formula to 3% at 50.



